There are .click() and .click(function()). Why .click() still runs the function in the second .click?

There are .click() and .click(function()).

Why .click() runs the function in the second .click? Is it implicit?

The keypress is triggered when Enter key is hit targeting the input form
while the second script runs when the ‘Search’ button is Clicked.

Hello there!

If I’m not mistaken click() and click(function()) are not at all similar. According to the jQuery API Documentation:

• click() is the same as trigger("click")
  • click(function()) is a shortcut of on("click", handler)

I made the decision to not use click(handler) shortcut not longer after I started learning through the FCC curriculum just to avoid this confusion. It’s just a personal preference though!

I hope that helps! :slight_smile:

EDIT: I just realised that I went into my own little world didn’t answer the question at all. :frowning: I would refer to @michealhall’s answer!

1 Like

It should also be noted that most browsers have a built-in feature whereby if you have a form with a single button, pressing enter while inside an input field will trigger a click event on the button.

Here’s an example. Just put your mouse in the text field and hit enter, in most modern browsers you will see the click event, even though we’re not explicitly calling it from the text input field.

I’m not sure but I tested the functionality. The enter button works with .keypress even without an actionable function within itself.

Now that I see the full code listing, you don’t have a form tag, so the feature I mentioned is not at play here. Refer to @honmanyau 's answer.

As others have noted, the .click() method call triggers the click event. Another gotcha is that, if a button has focus, even the spacebar will trigger the click event.