Remade my portfolio! Any thoughts?

I’m going to start applying for jobs and I felt that my portfolio was in desperate need of an overhaul. https://chival-portfolio.herokuapp.com/ What are your thoughts? I would greatly appreciate any feedback. Here is my old portfolio for comparison: http://codepen.io/codeFuChivy/full/BLbGZo/
Also, should I add my portfolio to my portfolio? This is the only major project I’ve done with the EJS templating engine, and I’ve listed it as one of my skills.

The use of gray in your portfolio is great in Simon project, original portfolio, contact list and nightowls. The rest of your projects you may want to change the color scheme a little. My understanding of color theory is the color gray gives your eyes a rest and means the material is not that important. In your new portfolio every section sub-heading is gray. So it’s not clear to the reader that it’s important.
I’m no expert at color theory. So check out color theory for programmers for ideas on how to add color to some of your projects.
Also, devicons can be used in your technical skills section.
Good luck on your job hunt!!

2 Likes

I never really thought about that before, I’ll check this out thanks!
Also I’ve been looking everywhere for these icons but I had no idea what they were called. Thanks a lot!!

Hey Chivy!

Here are some particularly cool portfolios I’ve noticed since starting up with FCC:

Some of them are pretty crazy, but I hope they might give you some inspiration!

To be honest, I think I prefer the layout / stylisation of your first portfolio, but the content of your new portfolio is much better. You first portfolio just seems to be super clean and clear.

Here are some things I think you could improve in your new portfolio:

• The spacing. Between the white container and your content, maybe on the top and at the bottom. Some text is horizontally centered in their containers, but not vertically. Maybe you could experiment with a little more padding?