It really is possible

I just accepted an offer as a UX developer intern today with a large tech company. This was after six months of self-study. I just wanted to come by and say it’s possible. It’s possible to land a role in the development world being self taught. Six months before, I had no experience in programming or web development. The position required HTML, CSS, Javascript, Responsive Design, and an understanding of how the web works. I’m still working my way though the front-end development certificate here, but I also worked through some parts of The Odin Project, as well as some other resources.

Some things I think helped me in landing a position so soon:

• Show a passion for web development. This is the most important part. Companies are much more willing to hire someone who really loves this stuff.
  • Know how the web works! Know what SSL is. Know the difference between HTTP and HTTPS. Know what a content management system is. Know what FTP is. This is something I think FCC could use more of.
  • Start working on your portfolio now! Really polish those projects and add some cool functionality to them. You don't need to have any crazy animations, but use a little jQuery to make them feel more interactive.
  • Show you're teachable. Companies will be more willing to take a chance on you if you show them you're a sponge. This job wants me to know Sass, which I've never worked with before. By showing I am willing to learn, they're willing to take a chance.
  • Turn being self-taught into a pro during your interview. They seemed a little concerned that I was self taught, but I used it to show I'm a self starter, I can find answers on my own, and I take my own education seriously.