Help about U.S college/university?

I’ve just finished Year 11 in New Zealand college (high school for americans), I’m 16. I’ve just started coding here but have some experience with HTML, CSS and some very basic JavaScript and JQuery as well as MySQL, although I don’t have many finished projects to show off yet. I’m convinced a career in programming is what I want, possibly front-end, app development or game development (not a game enthusiast but would love to make one).

I’ve been offered a spot in the NSR pathway program which is basically a sports related pathway to college/university in the U.S that makes it less costly by providing financial support/sport scholarships. I want to study computer science although I’m not sure whether it is worthwhile studying computer science as some people on youtube have explained that bootcamp or being self taught is better. I would like your advice whether it is worthwhile taking this opportunity, it isn’t free, it is very costly although not quite as costly as it would be doing it without NSR.

I need to make this decision soon, I have 2 years left in college (high school). Is there anyone who has been or is going to college/university in U.S.A and is it a good experience. My other options are going to university in NZ, self teaching before I leave college (high school) and getting a job as soon as I leave school or doing well and possibly getting a scholarship.

See this video for the exact question you are asking

A CS degree will open the most doors unless you are an auto-didact like the guys who founded Apple or Facebook. In that case it won’t really matter.