Giving up on coding

Hi,
I’ve been coding since more than 2 years and really find it hard and struggle to build even simpler of the things, should I give up on coding ???
I graduated in 2015 and unemployed since then, I tried to learn to code to make career in Web development but it’s been a struggle.
I can follow tutorials, articles, pick code snippets from stackoverflow/codepen, but when it comes to build something on my own I can’t do it and find myself going back to the basics and watch tutorials/consult documentations and books and pick code from there. How would I be able to survive in real world development which is of-course complex and complicated than the basics?
Should I just give up on coding and look for something else to do in life ?
I really look forward for help and suggestions regarding this.
Thanks.

9 Likes

Hey, what is it specifically that you struggle with? You say its the ‘basics’. The basics of what exactly? HTML? CSS? Javascript? Narrowing down what it is you really struggle with will help with suggestions on how to fix it.
With that said, learning to program IS difficult. A lot of people always need to reference at least a source or two to try and remember how to produce something specifically. However, many can ease that struggle by finding other resources to learn from, not just strictly FCC. I know some people who struggled for almost 2 years, such as yourself, to understand Javascript until they found a source to learn from that was more tailored to their learning abilities and style of learning and things started to ‘click’ for them.
I dont think anyone should ever give up on something that they are passionate about and really want to do.

10 Likes

At some point, you have to stop watching videos and following tutorials. These things only show step-by-step procedures or show the syntax of a command or language… some of these online courses/tutorials just spoon feed you, and not teach how to think and solve problems.