Can anyone please help me? I'm stuck on Javascript Word Blanks Exercise

I have no idea what it’s asking me to do. I’m new to Javascript and I haven’t come across a lesson here that explains “function” or “result”. So, I’m not sure what it’s asking me to do. Help!

Hi there :slight_smile:
A function is a module type thing that you can declare, and then later use whenever you’d like!
So in this case they have outlined a function for you called “wordBlanks” and it has 4 “parameters” (code line 2).
Which just means, when you call the function, you will also tell it those 4 parameters to use within itself.

Observe line 12. This is where you are calling the function. When you call it, you are sending in those 4 strings as the parameters. i.e. myNoun = “dog”, etc.

Now within the function you will want to save to your string data type variable “result”, the string you would like to be returned when you call the function.
How this works is when you call the function, it executes and then returns something if you tell it to. In this case you will be returning the variable “result” after you change it.

Sorry this is prolly lengthy and confusing. It’s my first time trying to help someone on here. And also when I look up the Word Blanks problem. It shows my solution I did long ago. So I’m not sure what exactly you’re looking at (what was provided).

7 Likes

When you find yourself confused while trying to come up with a solution on FreeCodeCamp. It can be really beneficial to read what your expected output is suppose to be for different inputs (on the bottom left of the screen). And if you don’t understand why a particular input it failing. Manually type that in in your code and then observe on the console.log what output you are instead getting. It’s much more helpful to know, not just that your output is currently wrong, but what it is exactly. Because then you can understand what you are doing wrong and fix it! :slight_smile: