Bachelors Degree - What Major to pursue?

So I know its very controversial if people who are studying coding online and through various programs and or bootcamps actually need a traditional bachelors degree. But assuming that I want to get a traditional bachelors degree as well as teaching myself coding through places like here, what degree should I look at?

I am still very new to playing around with coding, so its hard for me to say what kind of job I would want to get, I really dont know very much about the different positions, other than the obvious front-end or back-end. But I do know that I really like learning the different languages. I feel pretty comfortable with the basic website design, html/css, I have a design and art background, so I dont necesarily want a degree that will focus too much on that. I almost feel like I want to learn more of the theoretical functioning of websites and data interchanges… But I dont know if that is a smart direction to go.

So any input and guidance is much appreciated
Thanks!!

-Nao

This is probably pretty regional, but in the US you would want “Computer Science” if you’re interested in programming and “Computer Engineering” if you’re interested in hardware. There’s a lot of overlap and one doesn’t exclude you from the other, but that’s generally the distinction.

1 Like

Hey Nao,

While its probably true that many people don’t believe a bachelor’s degree isn’t a necessary requirement to get a programming job, but I doubt very many people will advise against it.