Bachelor of CS or smashing the code!

G’day guys,

I have just been accepted into a university in Melbourne to study a bachelor of computer science (fully online as I work full-time).

Are there any Aussies (or anyone knowing the Aus job market) working in the industry who may be able to pass on some advice?

I want to know if this is the best road to take for a developer job. I really enjoy learning code, whatever the language but I am very new to it.

Bit of background, I work in finance and I already have a bachelor of commerce. 26 years old.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks guys,

Luke

I can’t actually offer any advice that your original question asked for (someone who has experience or working in the industry)—but when I looked into this about half a year ago, I came to the conclusion that getting a CS degree isn’t the way to go for me; it may be worthwhile to consider the following:

• A university degree is another couple of years of investment both financially and temporally
  • The general consensuse appears to be that a CS degree is that you do learn programming but its primary focus is on learning the theory of how computer-related things work; in terms of building fun and useful things, good, solid programming boot camps appears to be the way to go. These opinions could be biased as most of the article I read are written by people who have been/are involved in communities such as FCC (naturally so)—but every now and then articles that appear on Medium do suggest that there are employers who don’t care about formal qualifications
  • What kind of developer you want to become and in which sector you want to want to work in (or perhaps starting your own business)? If I’m not mistaken some programming languages are preferred in certain sectors, particular if you are considering non-web applications—I can’t offer advice on this but I’m sure there are people on the forum who can