Age & ageism - Junior & senior developer dynamics - My experience

I started coding later in life, and I’m 2+ years into my coding career now. It’s been worth it for me, but I won’t sugar-coat things. There is some ageism out there. One employer, a start-up, was quite interested in me - I’m a LAMP stack applications developer - but my interviewer who was thinking aloud all throughout my interview, said that she was worried that I might not fit well working under the “CTO” who was a guy in his early 20s. A part of me understands how this dynamic could be difficult, but on the other hand, it was narrow-minded on their part.

Being older has also at times played in my favor. My current boss was like me, he started in IT later in life, and I know that probably played into why he wanted to hire me. Keep in mind, it’s not a picnic for young developers out there either; they are often perceived as inexperienced, immature, and lazy. These are unfair stereotypes, but this is a reality of IT employment and hiring that it’s important for junior developers of all ages to learn about.