Accepted a Job offer!

Technically I was offered last week, but today I finished all my paperwork to get things on board :slight_smile:

I am planning to write a medium article on my experience but I will give a brief overview of what I’ve experienced during this journey:

Background:
After traveling around the world for +8 months, I studied exclusively ruby because I was planning to get into a bootcamp in SF. After +2 months of studying of ruby (with little programming experience), I got accepted and promptly moved to SF March 2016. However, the BootCamp didn’t start until May 2016. Truthfully, I ended up not wisely spending my time studying during the gap (big mistake!). Within 2 weeks of the bootcamp, I was let go. Thus, my journey with FCC starts here (May 23rd 2016 to be more specific!).

Swallowing my pride, I decided to abandoned Ruby and learn inside-out with JavaScript

Here’s what I learned:

Don’t be an afraid to help - we’re all on this together!
Think about when someone asks you for a help. Chances are, you will help them. There’s no shame for asking extra help, especially when it is something that you want to learn (trust me, I had a good share of asking for help when I was learning JavaScript!). Programming is hard so why not helping each other out? Which brings my next point:

Pair Programming
There’s a reason why most bootcamps make you pair program with others. Simply because it actually works. If you want to get things done faster, both the results and the learning process, pair up with another person and on work the FCC projects! In my experience, when I paired up with my friend on the Dungeon Crawler Game, I learned many things about React that I wouldn’t have known if it wasn’t for him.

You may ask yourself, where can I find such person. Good question…

Be part of a community - attend FCC meetups