28 years old, Underemployed, and Wish I Could FInd a Job Yesterday

I’ve been out of college for three years now, but I can never seem to move beyond where I am now. Living at home, working just barely above minimum wage. I hate that I chose Asian Studies as a major and didn’t do any concrete planning for a career while in college. I’m still mad at myself for thinking I could get a translator job with subpar Japanese.

I know I’m a decent coder, but I feel like most employers don’t even look my way because I don’t have a degree in Computer Science. One of my biggest regrets was switching from Computer Science to Asian Studies in college.

I just feel like I’m approaching 30 now, and my situation is no different than when I was 18. Meanwhile, people my age (including my younger brother), are in promising careers and getting married, and I’m just the loser in the bunch.

I just needed to get that out of my system.

3 Likes

1st Off … STOP beating yourself up for taking a chance on something that didn’t pan out. RULE OF LIFE: If you don’t try, you will never succeed, so don’t every stop trying and always remind yourself of that.

I’m in my 50’s now, and I’m starting over also. I got a BS in CS many years ago, started a career right out of college and within a year was derailed by the software industry to the point that I settled for teaching application software as a career path. My real interest was in software development, which I dabbled in over the years, but not enough to claim any real experience. Back then, women were extremely unwanted in the computing industry and many of us were “persuaded” into less technical positions. Unfortunate for sure, but it was what it was … crappy! (moving on …)