Resources for Learning React/Redux

I started learning redux about two months ago and I was really frustrated that I wasn’t getting it. I messaged the creator, Dan Abrimov, and he showed me some helpful resources. I thought it might be useful to share these.

This is basically an order for learning React/Redux with lots of links:

And this is an examples folder on github I downloaded and played around with:

This video compares a small application he builds in react with and without redux:

It’s much easier to understand why it’s useful when you start to scale an application.

25 Likes

You can signup for a free web series on Redux from Wes Bos here. I haven’t gone thru them yet but I enjoyed his series on flexbox.

5 Likes

Thanks, I’m going to try this.

Hi gwenf,

I just came across these tutorial videos today -

http://learnreact.com/lessons

I am enjoying these - they are a simple intro into React - something I needed just to tide me over until FCC has there React challenges up. Anyway, hope this helps you :slight_smile:

I also had a question for you or anyone else who may know this answer - as I was working through these videos and following along typing my code into codepen, I noticed that with a newer version of React - React.render(); throws an error saying its not a function but when I use the older version used in the videos, my code works. Any ideas why this might be? Here’s a link to my pen so you can see what I’m talking about…

http://codepen.io/GenesisWebDesign/pen/MeKYvx

Right now I’m using the old version - 0.12.0 - and my code works. But when I use version 15.1.0 - it throws the error as I mentioned. I’m super new to React - this is just my second day studying it, but am very familiar with regular javascript. Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks so much,
Jessi

1 Like

React syntax has changed a lot in the last year. I think JSXTransformer has been depreciated since last summer.
There are several newer ways of writing React.render: